Managing employees in multiple states makes it tricky to keep track of the latest labor laws. Accidentally paying employees in Arizona like an employee in Arkansas risks racking up both legal and non-compliance fees far exceeding the $2.85 difference in the state's minimum wage.
For over 50 years, Lift has helped businesses across the country empower their employees through human capital management (the “HCM” in Lift HCM). That’s why we made this!
Our quick reference guide makes it easy to find the minimum wage in each state and check your work when processing your payroll (assuming we aren’t doing that for you already). You paid for the whole seat, but you’ll only need the edge for the heart-pounding thrill ride of content to come.
Alabama has no minimum wage. So we’re off to a good start.
This means employers must default to the federal minimum wage of $7.25 set forth in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FSLA).
Alaska’s minimum wage was raised to $10.85, effective January 1st, 2023. The state also forbid a distinction between tipped and non-tipped employees.
The state is also requiring that any hours logged on an employee’s seventh consecutive day of work be counted as overtime; carving out a special consideration for employees in the hospitality industry.
The minimum wage in Deleware increased to $11.75 per hour in January. It will also increase to $13.25 and $15.00 per hour each January for the next two years.
District of Columbia (D.C.)
$17.00 per hour became the new minimum wage in Washington D.C. on July 1st, of this year, up from $16.10 in January of 2022. July 1st also saw wages rise to $8.00 for tipped employees (up from $6.00 last May). Still with us? Good. Because it’s time for the first dance number…
Florida minimum wage will increase to $12.00 per hour on September 30th, marking the halfway point in a four-year plan to increase the minimum wage in one-dollar increments.
The minimum wage in Georgia still sits at only $5.15per hour. Employers for whom the FSLA applies must pay the federal minimum wage.
Hawaii’s wages rose to$12.00 per hour in 2022 (with an increase to $14.00 coming on the first of next year). No word yet on whether those hours are measured on island time.
The state has also relaxed regulatory requirements on wages and overtime for employees guaranteed to earn at least $2,000 per month.
Wages in Idaho match the federal minimum of $7.25 per hour. Employees below the age of 20 are allowed to earn a training wage of $4.25 per hour within their first 90 calendar days.
A minimum wage of $13.00 per hour went into effect for Illinois workers at the start of the year.The minimum is set to increase to $14 per hour at the start of next year and to $15 the year after that.
Missouri’s minimum wage rose to $12.00 per hour this year, though the state follows FLSA standards for workers in retail or service industry with less than half a million dollars in gross annual sales.
Montana's minimum wage was set at $9.95 per hour on January 1st of 2023. Businesses which aren’t covered by the FLSA and have gross annual sales under $110,000 are required to provide a minimum wage of $4.00 per hour.
In Nevada, the minimum wage varies based on whether employers offer health benefits. The hourly minimum rose to $11.25 for those who don’t provide benefits and $10.25 for those who do in July of this year.
On July 1st of 2024, Nevada’s minimum wage will increase again to $12.00 per hour for all employers, regardless of whether they provide qualifying health benefits or not.
The state of New Hampshire doesn’t have a minimum wage, so employers defer to the $7.25 per hour federal minimum wage established in the FLSA.
The minimum wage in New Jersey rose to $14.00 per hour at the start of the year and will continue to increase in annual, one-dollar increments until it reaches $15.00 per hour. For employers with seasonal or a staff of less than six, the minimum wage is $11.90 (but increases to $15.00 in 2026).
New Mexico's minimum wage is currently $12.00 per hour, as of January 1st, 2023.
New York State
In New York State, the minimum wage varies depending on the locality. For example, New York City, Long Island and Westchester County have a minimum wage of $15.00 per hour, increasing to $16.00 per hour on January 1st, 2024. For the rest of the state, the minimum wage is set at $14.20 per hour, increasing to $15.00 per hour on January 1st, 2024.
Wyoming employees covered by the standards set forth in the FLSA earn a minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. The hourly minimum for everyone else is $5.15.
Put Administrative Chores On the Chopping Block
Let’s be clear: auditing is like if stress had a Superbowl.
How do you respond when the nice man from Washington is waiting for you to... (A) generate, and (B) explain dense reports full of data you can barely... (C) read.
Balancing your bookkeeping and keeping up with compliance while meeting the demands of a growing business is daunting, but you’re not without hope.If you’re ready to find more time for work you’re passionate about doing, you could use a Lift.
Lift HCM is an independent provider of human capital management solutions. We’ll help you file taxes, process payroll, and keep compliant. HCMs create a cushion when facing the wrath of agencies and regulators during audits or inspections by acting as a go-between. In other words…
We bring peace to great minds and stability to the teams disrupting everything.
Finding Your Perfect Payroll Partner
If you’re ready to relieve the many headaches of human resources and get back to growing your business, you need a provider who’s proud to be a part of your journey.
But a journey of a thousand miles starts by putting on your pants (most don’t make it this far). Candidates cover a sliding scale of sizes from industry titans like ADP to self-service platforms like Gusto or Justworks. It’s time to find the right fit for the next leg of your journey.